e-mail: [email protected]
See our calendar for times for Sunday School and worship
History of First Lutheran Church of
January 2, 1897, Pastor H.O. Hemming agreed to assist with the formation of the church in Lafayette. At that time the new church was named the Swedish Evangelical Lutheran Church of Lafayette in Nicollet County Minnesota. The church was dedicated on November 10, 1897, and still stands as the place of worship for the congregation. During the first year the membership was a respectable 106 persons of which 39 were children. The original structure still stands; in 1928 the basement was added; in 1965 the church built the education wing; and in 1970 a narthex was added to reduce congestion.
In 2003, three churches, First Lutheran Church of Lafayette, Bernadotte Lutheran Church of Bernadotte, and Swan Lake Lutheran Church of rural New Ulm voted to create Fields of Grace Lutheran Parish. On June 1, 2013, Pastor Scott Jakel began his ministry at First Lutheran and Fields of Grace.
Craft and Bake Sale
Men’s Easter Breakfast
Coffee & fellowship after the service.
HOW WE SHARE OUR GIFTS:
Operation Christmas Child
1020 Lafayette Ave
Lafayette, MN 56054